Home > Blog Post > Needing a poker pick-me up

Needing a poker pick-me up

downswing

So close to $1k, yet so far

Things haven’t been going well for me of late in the bankroll building department.  At one point, I was mired in an 0-for-52 MTT and S&G slump.  That’s 52 consecutive touranments without a cash.  Pretty gross.

The subsequent damage to the bankroll was considerable, and my quest to get to the $1,000 bankroll mark off of the $50 deposit was met with a terrible downswing.  The worst part was, it came directly after a 3rd place finish in a $5 MTT that padded the roll over $200.  But that was completely wiped out during this swing. 

The good news is, the roll is still healthy.  The bad news is, it means more online grinding at the $2 MTT and S&G level.  It’s been the game of choice for a long time now, and after 1522 Sit and Go tournaments of either 27 or 18 man events, I am enjoying a total of $274.13 of net profit since March, when I began tracking the information on PokerTracker3.  Bankroll building is a slow and tedious process.

I’d like to carve out the time to participate in more $5 MTT events.  After 115 tournaments at that level, I have an ITM (in the money) rate of a ridiculously high 34.78%, a net profit of $696.22, and an ROI of an unsustainable 95.92%.  It’s apparently my bread and butter, but I would have to assume that variance will inevitably take its toll on those stats at some point as well.

I believe that I need to focus on some kind of training.  I’ve been looking through different online poker rooms training sites and trying to locate which ones are the best to go over.  Full Tilt’s blog had a couple of ideas on “10 Ways to Refresh Your Game” that I enjoyed going through.  I need to read more poker stuff like that. 

Where do you go to learn about poker?  What sites do you use to teach you?  And what sites are you using to help learn the game?

Categories: Blog Post Tags: , ,
  1. ATM eater
    October 19, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    For me definitely has been Deepstacks University. They has so many different instructors with modules on all types of scenerios from MTT, SnG, early to late position play, short stacked, Big stacked, etc

    • Paul Ellis
      October 19, 2010 at 1:50 pm

      I’m a big supporter of the Deepstacks U gang. I think they’re really solid players and teachers. I’m gonna have to give their stuff a try. Thanks!

  2. October 27, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    I’m just starting out in the blogging world and would like to offer you some tournament training I find myself a consistent casher, of course i lose to suck outs and bad beats here and there but so does everyone. I know for a fact that I can rebound your downswing to an upswing. Please message me if interested.

    jungleman12.wordpress.com

    • Paul Ellis
      October 28, 2010 at 9:54 am

      Good luck with your blog. I like the blog name. Dan Cates is one of the best (perhaps THE best HU NLHE player out there right now, one could argue).

  1. October 19, 2010 at 10:57 am

Leave a Reply

